Home » English » Not Me!

Not Me!

Experimenting writing a ghazal in English. I must admit it feels awkward. I know more writers have taken up the form in English, but I haven’t had a chance to read much of it. Some I have read are almost always free verse and many dispense with qafiyah (rhyme) and radiif (refrain).

Not me!

I’m not you, and you’re not me
Isn’t that what you taught me?

Who’s the writer of my fictional memoirs?
Everyone appears, but the writer forgot me.

Can’t say I blame you, for I told
a white lie and you caught me.

I know my ledger of promises falls short,
We’ll settle this later. For now, spot me.

Don’t spread untruths about me. See
through the ‘Mirage’, and don’t blot me.

Aashish Vaidya “Mirage”. Written in Dec 2012, shared on Jan 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

