Home » English » I Spin’ed a Top for Hours

I Spin’ed a Top for Hours

I Spin’ed a Top for Hours…

I spin’ed a top, skipped a rope, for hours
I watched the rain, and sculpted soap, for hours.

Sometimes even the simplest thing can amuse you, like
I saw colors and designs in a kaleidoscope, for hours.

Sometimes you get stuck doing boring things, like
I stuffed envelope after envelope after envelope, for hours.

Sometimes you see other people do weird things, like
I saw this guy poring over a horoscope, for hours.

Sometimes you get to learn new, cool things, like
I watched butterflies under the microscope, for hours.

“Mirage” sometimes you can: rope-a-dope, mock a pope,
spy through a periscope, look far using a telescope, for hours.

Poem Notes: I wrote this one for the boys as they always claim that they are bored, when they are asked to do something other than eletronics time. Not that I got through them to do something different than watching tv or playing games. Perhaps with spring on its way, they will get a chance to do more things outside.

Again trying to keep up with the Ghazal form of having a matla, qafiyaah, radif and a maqta. Hope this came out fine.

Leave a Reply

