Home » English » Songbird’s Song

Songbird’s Song

Crush of leaves and gravel beneath
You on your brisk walk to shed calories
Why did you stop mid-step
was it to hear me sing?

Did you deduce me to be
a Song Sparrow
a Warbler – a Bulbul?
Will my melodies fire some synapses in you
To later scribe a line or two?

Will my notes inspire you to write
A lament like Ghalib’s:
Making you wish thousand wishes
But dying at every longing?

Or a couplet like Faiz’s:
Will my song be
part of the garden’s administration,
which is abated till your beloved visits?

Is my song a song of freedom
as sung by Maya’s caged bird?
Will you give me wings and a back draft
So I can claim the sky?

Will you recognize me when
I later come to your backyard
And claim my fill from the cherry tree?
Will you listen to my song
As you do now,
Resting on a felled tree.
Or will you simply shoo me away?

Notes: NaPoWriMo 2013 Day 13. Today’s prompt was simply to take a walk and “make notes — mental or otherwise — on what you see on your walk, and incorporate these notes into your poem. A bit more serene and observational than yesterday…”

Poem is suppose to be self-referential, but I had few other works swirling in my head as this poem’s idea came to me. So, more so for me then the reader, references I used:

1) Mirza Ghalib’s couplet:

Hazaaron khwahishen aisi ke har khwahish pe dam nikle
Bohat niklay mere armaan, lekin phir bhi kam nikle

A translation:
all the thousands of longings are such that over every longing I would die
many of my wishes ’emerged’– but still, few ’emerged’.

2) Faiz Ahmed Faiz’s couplet:

gulo.n mei.n rang bhare, baad-e-naubahaar chale
chale bhii aao ki gulshan kaa karobaar chale
A translation:
let the blooms fill with colour, let the first zephyr of spring flow
do come over, so the garden can get on with its daily business

3) Maya Angelou’s Why the Caged Bird Sings

napo2013button1

Leave a Reply

