Home » English » A Walking Billboard

A Walking Billboard

I brushed with Sonicare and Colgate toothpaste, as I am a walking billboard
I shaved with Phillips razor and got clean faced, as I am a walking billboard

I donned KC Reaction shirt and slacks, belt and shoes to get dressed
I retrieved encased Seiko watch, as I am a walking billboard

Breakfast is toast slathered in Smuckers jelly and washed with Starbucks coffee
Gosh it’s late! must get in the Prius and rush to work, as I am a walking billboard

I drive away with iPhone blaring tunes and I cut sun’s glare with Serengeti shades,
I am surveyed, dissected and constantly traced, as I am a walking billboard

I am redacted as a consumer and an open wallet, reduced to the barest essence
I’m effaced chasing the “mirage” of wants and needs, as I am a walking billboard

Notes: NaPoWriMo 2013 Day 14. Not following the prompt, today. For those, keeping score, this ghazal form doesn’t have qafiyah (ryhme) but only a radif (refrain).

napo2013button1

Leave a Reply

