Home » English » A Non-Pareil Owl’s Rodomontade

A Non-Pareil Owl’s Rodomontade

I, a wise owl,
am expected
to be a generator of wisdom.
Information is plentiful
Knowledge abounds
but wisdom. Wisdom?
Wisdom is in short supply.
So I must abscond myself to a hideaway
Or sneak off on a quest
in search of wisdom,
Less I am exposed
as a poseur.
But, if I am declared a poseur, what’s the harm?
I won’t really be a poseur.
See. In some cultures –
I am considered a fool
“Son of an owl” is not a compliment.
An owl equals a dunderhead.
Calling me wise will not inflate my ego
Calling me a fool won’t make me bilious.

Who is to say one’s wise or one’s a fool?
Is there really a clear line between wisdom and foolishness?
Take for example, the zen master who said “if you find Buddha, kill him.”
Is he wise or is he a fool?
Some may say this is my rodomontade
But some might call this a humble speech.
Some may call me wise, some, a fool.
I am just an owl, what do I know.

Notes: NaPoWriMo 2013 Day 20. . The prompt today was to use 5 words from a word list. So I took the bait. With a seemingly random list of words, ended up doing a word association and almost a stream of consciousness type of writing. Words highlighted are from the list.
Here is the word list:
owl, generator, abscond, upwind, squander, clove, miraculous, dunderhead, cyclops, willowy, mercurial, seaweed, gutter, non-pareil, artillery, salt, curl, ego, rodomontade, elusive, twice, ghost, cheese, cowbird, truffle, svelte, quahog, bilious.

Leave a Reply

