Home » English » In My Footstep

In My Footstep

Day 11 NaPoWriMo prompt was a doozy.  It was to write a poem in Sapphics, which is attributed to Sappho.  A poem in Sapphics is usually written in quatrains, where the first three lines have eleven syllables and the fourth has five.  But, that just isn’t it.  It follows a strict meter where the first three lines include two trochees (“a two-syllable foot, with the first syllable stressed, and the second unstressed”), then a dactyls (‘a three-syllable foot, with the first syllable stressed and the remainder unstressed’), followed with two trochees.  “The fourth line is a dactyl, followed by a trohcee.”  Does that have everyone’s head spinning?  Mine did too.

Yesterday I did not get to a poem, but ended up writing 2 quatrains today.  So I will claim for Day 11 and one for Day 12.  But, though, I have a 11-11-11-5 syllables quatrain, I did not meticulously check the meter, as I a matter of fact, I am certain I have violated the stressed and unstressed syllables.  I think I am meter challenged.  Oh well.

In My Footstep

Cross-legged on rusted chair, flexing his old
arthritic hands, reading the newspaper half-
focused, half-worried if his wayward son will
takeover his trade.

Day 12 is a companion piece to this.

Leave a Reply

