Home » English » Microbiota

Microbiota

Day 20 of NaPoWriMo.  What seemed like an easy prompt, turned out little more difficult to write on today.  The prompt is, “write a poem that states the things you know. For example, “The sky is blue” or “Pizza is my favorite food” or “The world’s smallest squid isParateuthis tunicata. Each line can be a separate statement, or you can run them together. The things you “know” of course, might be facts, or they might be a little bit more like beliefs. Hopefully, this prompt will let your poem be grounded in specific facts, while also providing room for more abstract themes and ideas.”

I know I am me
But only ten percent,
like the African savannah, where -
there are lions, leopards and cheetah
there are wildebeest, cape buffaloes, zebras
and giraffes, and rhinos and elephants
there are elands, gazelles, impalas and waterbucks,
I am an ecosystem of microfauna -
Nine out ten cells of my microbiota -
my savannah - is
bacteria, yeast, fungi, archaea and achari.
I know I am me,
But barely.
Leave a Reply

