Home » English » Untold tale of panchtantra

Untold tale of panchtantra

Yes it is known that I was rewarded by
My wealthy master to a Brahmin
For performing religious rites.

Yes, it is known the Brahmin
Was carrying me on his back while
Returning home.

Yes, it is true and that
while going home he encountered
three thugs who scheme
To obtain me from the Brahmin
And make a meal out of me.

Yes, it is known that the first
thug asked the Brahmin,
“why was he carrying a dog”.
Next one asked, “why was a carrying
A dead calf.” By this time,
The Brahmin was having doubts.

Finally the third one asked the Brahmin
“Why was he carrying an ass.”
By this time, my new owner, the Brahmin,
Didn’t realize the thugs’ ploy
He spooked and thought I was a ghost
and threw me by the roadside.

It is also known that thugs were
Happy of having outsmarted the Brahmin
And we’re getting ready to make me into
A meal.

What is perhaps not known is that
I wasn’t just a goat, I am a
shape shifter. So when the thugs
came to make a meal out of me,
I turned into a roaring lion
And chased the thugs away.

Notes: Day 21 of NaPoWriMo 2016. Prompt was to write a poem from a point of view of a minor character. I picked a panchtantra tale with a twist.  Light blogging day today, so penned a quick draft.

Leave a Reply

