Home » English » And that’s all I have to say about that

And that’s all I have to say about that

You can fool many people some time
You can fool fools all the time
And that’s all I have to say about that
Hate you can, but you can’t hurry love
And that’s all I have to say about that

My baby can start a fight in an empty house
My baby can raise hell and stuck a chunk under it
And that’s all I have to say about that
My baby’s in a horn-tossing mood
My baby’s so contrary she’s floating up-stream
And that’s all I have to say about that
My baby’s got some snap in her garters
My baby’s rope got no slack
And that’s all I have to say about that
If my baby crows, the sun’s up
And that’s all I have to say about that
This ain’t my baby’s first rodeo
And that’s all I have to say about that
My baby speaks ten words a second, with gusts to fifty
My baby’s jumping like hot water on a skillet
And that’s all I have to say about that

Cut your own firewood, it’ll warm you twice
And that’s all I have to say about that
Don’t squat on your spurs
And that’s all I have to say about that
He’s confused as a goat on AstroTurf
And that’s all I have to say about that

Notes: Day 26 of NaPoWriMo 2016.  Today’s prompt was to write a poem that is “an interactive exchange between one main speaker and an audience.”  I remember Forrest Gump’s refrain “that’s all I got to say about that” and mashed it up with some Texan sayings (and couple of other ones) into a found poem.

Leave a Reply

